Forgotten Piece




Edition Peters

Instrumentation Notes

1 to 4 pianos

Program Notes

(This score was previously self-published by Earle Brown. It is available as facsimile print from Edition Peters as of 2007.)

“Actually, I just discovered it in my manuscripts, one day. It is written for four pianos. We did a concert for multiple pianos, in the early days, and I think I must have written it for that particular concert. But I never finished it, and I forgot about it. When David Arden said he wanted to record the complete piano works, it occurred to me that it was a very viable piece, and that he could make a version for the piano. What David has done is quite remarkable: he begins by playing Piano I through. Then he repeats it, this time adding Piano II, then he adds Piano III, then Piano IV. By now, he is playing all four parts with only two hands! He then reverses the process, ending up with Piano I alone. I think it works really well!”

More Information

Arranged for solo piano by David Arden. Commissioned by Harmonia Mundi.

Sample Page

Forgotten Piece sample page


Music for Piano(s) 1951 – 1995 (released 1996)

New Albion

Performed by David Arden

Buy from

Earle Brown Music Foundation