Syntagm III




Edition Peters

Instrumentation Notes

Fl., B-cl., Perc., Cel., Hrp., Vln., Vc.

Program Notes

[The revised Peters Edition score of 2007 replaces all previous editions.]

Commissioned by Fondation Maeght, Saint-Paul-de-Vence, France.

SYNTAGM III is an extension of my early graphic, improvisational scores such as SYNERGY I and DECEMBER 1952 [from FOLIO] in combination with aspects of open-form (TWENTY-FIVE PAGES, 1953), and more recent scores such as SYNERGY II in which I have combined all of these “experimental” scoring and performance techniques. SYNTAGM III is a further attempt to create relevant and responsible aspects of my function as composer, and optimistic attitude toward performance spontaneity…a kind of “programmed environment” of composer-performance collaboration. This is very close to the definition of “synergy” as I worked with the concept in 1952. Recent developments are encouraging, finally.

SYNTAGM III is a closed-form work but with some graphically notated and flexible inner structures. Much of it is strictly notated and even the “graphic” areas are very closely controlled. Some materials from EVENT: SYNERGY II have been collaged into this work. I am interested in a kind of “echo” relationship within and between works.

More Information

Percussion: Vibraphone and Marimba.

Audio Samples

Syntagm III

Selected Performances

March 14, 1991 • Ars Musica Festival, Belgium

Rand Steiger conducted the California EAR Unit. The concert was broadcast live.

October 14, 1990 • California

California Ear Unit

July 29, 1990 • Aspen Music Festival

Stephen Mosko, conductor

November 6, 1988 • Boston

Musica Viva

September 6, 1988 • Sanders Theatre, Harvard University

Ensemble: Boston Musica VivaConductor: Richard Pittman

February 6, 1986 • Cincinatti University

November 26, 1985 • Freiburg, Germany, Institut fuer Neue Musik

August 19, 1980 • Radio France

February 6, 1972 • Peabody Conservatory of Music

July 20, 1970 • Fondation Maeght, St.Paul-de-Vence, France

World Premiere
Ensemble: Ensemble Ars Nova de L'O.R.T.F.
Conductor: Lukas Foss

Sample Page

Syntagm III sample page


Earle Brown Music Foundation